What are the signs of grief and loss?

At some point in our lives we all experience grief and loss. This could be the loss of a pet, loved one, lifestyle, relationship, job, pregnancy, infertility, children moving out, divorce or separation.

Everyone experiences grief and loss differently and there is no right or wrong way to process the experience. It may take one person weeks while others may take years, over time you learn to cope and manage life without what it is you have lost.

Grief is expressed through your thoughts, emotions, and behaviour and can affect various parts of your life such as beliefs, physical health, relationships, and your identity.

Within the industry there are Five Stages of Grief:

  1. Denial – may also experience numbness or shock
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

This cycle can go around and around and bounce from one to another at any time. Sometimes knowing the stages of Grief helps to understand where the bereaved are coming from to support them best.

If you would like to talk to us about how we can support you, then please contact us to book your appointment today!